Our History

The organization of the Pioneer Regional School Corporation was brought about by the Reorganization Act of Indiana of 1959. This act required that all schools within the state of Indiana be organized into single unit school corporations of at least one thousand students in attendance. Pioneer Regional School Corporation is one of the few regional corporations in the state. Schools are known as "regional corporations" because they encompass a geographical area that is located in more than one county.

The Pioneer Regional School Corporation consists of five townships, four of which are in Cass County-Boone, Harrison, Jefferson, and Noble-and one in White County-Cass township. The corporation has in it 153 square miles and includes the communities of Lucerne, Headlee, Lake Cicott, and Royal Center. The only existing and occupied building eliminated during the reorganization process was the school at Lucerne, which was closed in 1966 when the Jr.-Sr. High School building was completed and occupied. The corporation also has one elementary building, which, along with the Jr.-Sr. High School, is located in Royal Center.

The organizational meeting for the Board of Trustees was called by Chalmer Condon, then Superintendent of Cass County Schools, on January 2, 1963. The members of the first Board of Trustees of the Pioneer Regional School Corporation were Paul Harrison, President; H.W. Roller, Vice-President; Roger Ide, Secretary; Harold Wilson, Treasurer; and Donald Heiny, Assistant Secretary. The corporation's first superintendent was Ralph L. Kelly, who served until January 20, 1968.

Pioneer Schools have undergone two major renovation projects since consolidation. The first occurred between 1976 and 1980 when a major addition was made to both buildings. The elementary school received fifteen new classrooms, a media center, a multipurpose room, additional rest rooms, an art room, and the cafeteria was remodeled and enlarged. At the high school, a swimming pool and an additional dressing room were added.

The second major renovation occurred at the Jr.-Sr. high school in 2000-01 with the addition of a band room, auxiliary gymnasium, a wrestling room, a weight room, restrooms, new administrative offices, and the upgrading of all science class rooms. It was also during this construction project that the administration building was erected and the parking lot was widened.

Our Corporation Today

Pioneer Regional School Corporation continues to serve the students of northwest Cass and northeast White County. The corporation employs approximately 130 certified and classified staff members. The superintendent of Pioneer Regional School Corporation is Mr. Charles Grable.

The current Board of Trustees, whose primary function is to set policy and make decisions that are necessary to guarantee a quality program of instruction for the youth of our corporation, particularly in the areas of finance and personnel, is comprised of the following members: Lisa Kesling, President: Brad Swartzell, Vice-President: Dennis Herd, Secretary: and Members: Rachelle Pearson and Steve Felker. Our Board believes that the schools should recognize the potential of each student by offering both instruction and experience in a safe and caring environment. With that in mind, the Board and the Corporation is committed to continually updating our facilities, making advancements in technology, and maintaining a safe environment for all students and staff.